This Week’s Eats {3}

I am a little late with this post, but this week’s eats (last week’s I guess) is a special edition featuring food from Charleston, South Carolina. I visited my favorite city this past week during my spring break and ate a ton of good food. Here are some of my favorite eats from Charleston!

1. “Build your own salad” from Caviar and Bananas. I got arugula, goat cheese, egg, roasted tomatoes, chickpeas, with a lemon vinaigrette dressing. It was amazing. Also so big that I could barely finish it.

IMG_4010

My friend also got a Rocky Road dessert bar from Caviar and Bananas… I’m pretty happy that I stole a bite.

IMG_4016

2. Raspberry glazed doughnut and a “Dirty Elephant” iced coffee from Glazed Gourmet Doughnuts. Their doughnut flavors change every day, so there is always something new and different. They aren’t lying when they say ‘gourmet doughnuts’  either – the raspberry glaze on this one was so fresh!

IMG_4065

3. Chicken Caesar Salad and Tuna Salad Croissant from Five Loaves Cafe. This place gives a whole new meaning to soups, salads, and sandwiches. My choice sounds kind of boring compared to other options like their Sweet Chili Glazed Eggplant Wrap, but it was different than anything I have ever eaten before! The chicken salad had a warm three cheese tortelleni on top… why I have never thought to put tortelleni on a salad I do not know.

IMG_4235

IMG_4236

4. Dark Chocolate and Toasted Brioche with Butter and Black Currant Jam ice cream from Jeni’s Ice Cream was incredible. I don’t know how I have gone this far in life without trying Jeni’s before – but hands down the best ice cream I have ever eaten. The staff at Jeni’s is so friendly and helpful in making recommendations. I sampled pretty much half of the store before I decided on my flavors.

IMG_4242

5. Tollhouse Cookie Dough Pie from Kaminsky’s bakery was also a wonderful dessert choice. Both times I have visited Kaminsky’s have been great experiences. Their cakes and pies change every day, but I guarantee you can find something good every time.

IMG_4248

6. Last but not least, the House Specialty Omelet from Toast! It was an open-faced omelet with grilled zucchini, mushrooms, and pepper jack cheese served with home fries and toast. I really love the staff and the atmosphere of this little restaurant. And of course, the food is delicious!

IMG_4257

So those are some of my favorite eats from Charleston! There are still plenty of restaurants and cafes that I have on my list to visit next time I go back. If you ever find yourself in Charleston, make sure to try out some of these places!

Leave me a comment:

Do you have any favorite Charleston eats?

2 thoughts on “This Week’s Eats {3}

Leave a Reply

