Don’t Wait

I used to have a weird perception that I would be happier or more satisfied with myself in the future. I was guilty of the “I can’t wait until…” mentality.  I thought I would reach a certain point and finally stop and think “yep this is it.”  But that  has never happened. I thought after I graduated high school and got into college then I would be happy. After I finish the Gen Ed classes and got more into my major, college would be better. Getting a real job and working as a dietitian would satisfy me. I would even think, when this week is over, when summer gets here, and on and on. But really, why shouldn’t I be doing exactly what I want to right now?

After realizing this,  I decided to start living exactly the way I wanted to. A perfect example is starting Beautifully Gray. It took me a long time to start this blog. I had played around with the idea for a few years until one day I realized, what am I waiting for? If this is something that I truly want to do, why am I putting it off? Taking chances are scary, they may be stressful, they will push your comfort zones. But are they worth it? Absolutely.

I would encourage everyone to embrace where they are right at this moment. Make the best of your situation and find your own happiness within it. Most importantly, don’t hesitate to pursue what you truly want in life. I’ll end with one of my favorite quotes by Jim Elliot: “Wherever you are, be all there.” Remember this each day and find comfort with where you are.  IMG_1806

2 thoughts on “Don’t Wait

  1. Roberta Moody says:

    You are so perceptive at your young age. As we get older we realize how important it is to be happy with your life and gifts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

